Winning weekender

It was one of those rare weekends when everything went according to plan. As punters we are hard-wired to remember losing streaks and recall the pain of near-misses; I think it’s worth celebrating success for once – that’s my excuse for the following sick brag anyway!

Summer finally arrived and the sun shone on my fortune. My long term positions on the England v West Indies series look attractive. Having flip-flopped on Chanderpaul, disaster was averted as the little guy managed a match aggregate of 57 – disappointing by his standards – and the spread is likely to come down from 333-343. Long on the WI ‘Zero Tolerance’ market with Sporting Index, the men from the Caribbean obliged with no fewer than four ducks (40 points) across the match. Add that to the 35 make up from Lord’s and, having bought at 80, I’m pretty much free-rolling at Edgbaston. I also made a cheeky 86 point profit selling WI 2nd innings runs at 251. The only concern is my buy of Shillingford’s series bowling index. The off-spinner looked about as dangerous as Peter Such bowling a cushion and it would probably be the best outcome for me if he were dropped for the final test.

One man that did look dangerous this weekend was Carl Froch. The Nottingham pugilist pummeled Lucian Bute and secured victory in the fifth. I’d sold total rounds at 10 with the idea that Bute’s speed might be too much for Froch – I read the fight completely incorrectly but pocketed a nice profit nonetheless!

They’re happy, I’m happy

By far the biggest success of the weekend was Harlequins claiming the Aviva Premiership title at Twickers. Not only did I enjoy a glorious game at the home of rugby, I was also counting my winnings as Robshaw’s Quins secured the club’s first championship of the professional era. I made £12 on the supremacy market (selling Leicester at 5), added a pony buying Quins’ kicking metres at 150 (make up 258) and my outright buy of the West London fancy dans on the outright playoff index netted another £25.

Nice to be a winner for once; now to plot giving it all back on the Euros.

So you know better? Leave your thoughts

